Honor of a lifetime for MTC Law Enforcement Academy director

(Bradenton, FL—May 20, 2021) Jay Romine, director of the Manatee Technical College Law Enforcement Academy, was inducted into the Florida Law Enforcement Officers’ Hall of Fame last week.
William “Jay” Romine began his career in law enforcement in 1979 as an auxiliary police officer at Holmes Beach Police Department. He rose through the ranks to become chief of police in 1993, a position he held for 20 years. Among his many accomplishments during his tenure as chief, Romine founded the Manatee County Law Enforcement Council and was appointed by two governors to the Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission (CJSTC). In 2004, a year when several major hurricanes made landfall in Florida, he was president of the Florida Police Chiefs Association (FPCA) and a leader in coordinating disaster response to all areas of the state.

After his retirement from HBPD in 2013, he became the director of the Law Enforcement Academy at Manatee Technical College, and he continues to serve in that capacity today.
“I can’t think of an individual more deserving than Jay Romine, or an honor more fitting,” stated Melanie Bevan, Ed.D., Chief of Police for the Bradenton Police Department. “He has enriched our profession, earned the respect of his peers, and is a role model to many.”

The Hall of Fame was created in 2014 to recognize and honor law enforcement officers who put their lives on the line for the safety and protection of Florida’s citizens through their works, service and exemplary accomplishments.

The induction ceremony was held at the State Capitol in Tallahassee on May 15, 2021. FDLE Commissioner Rick Swearingen presided over the ceremony.
“This is an honor of a lifetime,” said Romine.

He had been selected for induction in 2020; however, the ceremony was postponed due to the Covidshutdown. He had been nominated for the honor by the Florida Police Chiefs Association.


Photo 1: William “Jay” Romine inducted into Florida Law Enforcement Officers Hall of Fame by FDLE Commissioner Rick Swearingen at the State Capitol on May 15, 2021

Photo 2: 2020 Florida Law Enforcement Officers Hall of Fame Inductees: Lawrence Crow Jr., William Liquori, FDLE Commissioner Rick Swearingen, James Gabbard, William “Jay” Romine, and Donna Uzzell


Similar Posts