National Technical Honor Society Member Wins National Scholarship

(Bradenton, FL, June 11, 2020)  Amoreena Miller, a student and member of the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) at Manatee Technical College has been named one of the 2020 recipients of the Jon H. Poteat Scholarship. Miller was chosen as one of the 250 NTHS members to receive this $1,000 scholarship based on her ability to consistently exemplify the seven character-attributes of NTHS – Skill, Honesty, Service, Responsibility, Scholarship, Citizenship, and Leadership.

Miller is being inducted into NTHS based on her outstanding performance in Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration program at MTC.  Her instructor, Brian Forbes, had this to say about her:

“From the moment Amoreena entered the classroom, she had an enthusiasm to learn everything she could about the subject of HVAC.  She starts every day on time and with a positive, never-give-up attitude.  She is a pleasure to be around and eager to help any student at any time.  She has demonstrated excellence in construction skills and now has the confidence to succeed in the air conditioning and heating trade.  I know she will certainly obtain her goals and make her future employer very happy.”


About the National Technical Honor Society: NTHS was established in 1984 with the purpose of honoring student achievement and leadership in Career and Technical Education (CTE). Since 1984, NTHS has served over 1 million members.  In 2005, the NTHS scholarship fund was launched, awarding over $2 million in scholarships since that time to enhance and enrich the career opportunities of their members. With chapters in both secondary and postsecondary schools across the country, NTHS is the national leader in providing recognition for excellence in CTE. NTHS serves over 100,000 student members annually throughout the U.S. and U.S. territories, and is based in Flat Rock, NC.


About the Jon. H. Poteat Scholarship: The Jon H. Poteat Scholarship is one of 280 scholarships NTHS offers their members every year. Named in honor and memory of their Co-Founder, this scholarship program is reserved exclusively for secondary and postsecondary NTHS members who are currently enrolled in an active chapter. These scholarships are awarded annually to members who consistently exemplify the seven character attributes of NTHS – Skill, Honesty, Service, Responsibility, Scholarship, Citizenship, and Leadership.

Similar Posts